Tuesday, March 10, 2009

Fish Juice Mimosas?

Fish juice... ewwwwwww! Just the sound of it is gross, and it's certainly not something you'd want in your mimosa for brunch. After reading a recent tip on the SuperVegan site, all vegans & vegetarians should make a point of examining anything in their grocery baskets claiming to be infused with omega-3s. Fish oil is the most commonly used ingredient, though for many vegetarian & vegan products, flaxseed oil is used for the extra ALA boost. Though both types of oils have their pros & cons, as a vegetarian, I certainly don't want to find fish oil supplements in orange juice, cereal, and salad dressing. But guess what? That's exactly where they're popping up.

Seems silly, because the ALA type of omega-3 fatty acid in flaxseed can actually be used by the body to produce the two types of acids found in fish oil, EPA and DHA (though this is more so the case in women than it is in men). And if you really want your DHA, manufacturers can also utilize algae oil to make a suitable vegan substitute.

Though vegans & vegetarians by default have been trained to read labels anyway, it's good to be reminded that everything needs a closer look. I personally will be avoiding Tropicana, thankyouverymuch.

No comments: